Weekend Alcoholic

I can almost taste the Malibu & Coke

The salt on my skin.

The light from a rusty old lamp

Perfect for hiding my hot cheeks

.

.

Beep

“I’m back, how has your day been?”

Beep

Welcome back, perfect now” 

.

.

“Forgive me but have we met?

You seem oddly familiar”

Allow me to introduce myself.

I’m the girl you’ll fall for, but never have the courage to tell”

.

.

Good Morning, Miss Sunlight.

Best message received. Ever.

.

.

I still have that black dress

From the night we first met

After months of just talking

Meeting you, was like coming home

.

.

“I’m back and I’m starving. Where are you? Work?”

“Welcome back. Yes. Drop in at office. We have pol sambol and paan!”

“What will your friends think if I come?”

In my heart – “That I’m the luckiest girl in the world”

What I typed – “Nothing”

.

.

And just like that,you married her

The one you said you’d never touch with a barge pole.

And just like that, I loved him true

I am the gin to his tonic

You were my weekend alcoholic.

.

.

Did it make things easier?

The 6 year radio silence?

Coz if it did, then I forgive you.

.

.

“Walking to the gate. I hate this walk. Everyone stares”

Have you really looked at people? Don’t you recognise the stare? What do you see? Look again”

I can’t stare back at people just like that…” 

Oh god you’re right. How did you know?”

” 🙂 “

.

.

Just got inOn the way to the airport. What’s your day looking like tomorrow?”

“Just boarded. Talk to u when we touch down 🙂 ”

“Just landed. What’s up?”

.

.

I wasn’t the empty canvas you wanted to paint. Did my ambition scare you? Did you also know, you were a love I’d have crossed oceans for. 

One thought on “Weekend Alcoholic

Leave a comment